Total beginner questions

Tagged: , ,

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Taylor 2 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

CRODGERS
    Participant

Where is a good place to post total beginner questions?

Chris
    Keymaster

@CRODGERS – this is it!

CRODGERS
    Participant

Cool. So, my first question is a basic usability question. Currently, I have a little side project where I do some wooden cutouts for a preschool teacher, who uses them as little themed projects for her class. Like a tree and a star for Christmas, a turkey for Thanksgiving, a tulip for spring, etc. (the back story is that her father used to do it for her, then he died, her husband took over, then he died, and now I am doing it for her) For these, I simply trace the patterns on thin plywood (15-20 at a time) and then cut them out on my scroll saw.

Would a CNC like this, equipped with a dremmel-type tool and a roto-zip type blade (I have the rotary tool) be able to cut out the little shapes for me? How would that work – cutting out shapes from thin plywood? Wouldn’t the blade go through and start cutting into the base? Or do you put down an extra sheet of plywood that does get cut up a little and you replace it periodically? I have seen videos of a rotary tool being used as an engraver, but not for cutting out plywood shapes. Is this the wrong tool for doing what I already do with the scroll saw?

I enjoy doing woodworking with the scroll saw, but I thought it would be more consistent and faster to do these on a CNC machine – well at least more consistent and taking less of my personal attention. Then I might be able to do a few more projects like this without getting burned out at the scrollsaw for hours and hours at a time.

Chris
    Keymaster

@CRODGERS – yes you could pretty easily cut shapes like this with a CNC.